Samson Parade

A living tradition

Folk traditions have great significance here in the Lungau. Spread out at various events throughout the year, the traditional spirit of this region is clearly evident. And that includes, for example, when Samson makes his way through the streets in autumn.

The tradition of the Samson parade actually goes all the way back to the 16th century. Since that time, the annual procession with Samson along our lanes and streets, accompanied by a music band and generally by ceremonial militia, is undoubtedly one of the seasonal highlights.

As the emblem of the Lungau and a symbol of strength and power, the heroic biblical figure, weighing in at a substantial 80 kilos, is borne through the town. Quite the colorful spectacle indeed, as the 6 to 8 meters-tall giant is hoisted into the air by the Samson Bearers.

Important Dates:

11.06.2017 - Samson at the "Fire & Voice" festival
15.06.2017 - Samson parade to mark Corpus Christi
15.08.2017 - Samson procession on the Katschberg
24.09.2017 - Samson parade, part of the Market Festivals

Samson-Umzug

Ein Brauch, der lebt

Brauchtum hat im Lungau eine große Bedeutung. Bei Veranstaltungen übers ganze Jahr verteilt ist der traditionelle Geist der Region eindeutig zu spüren, beispielsweise, wenn Samson im Herbst durch die Gassen zieht.

Der Brauch des Samson-Umzugs geht auf das 16. Jahrhundert zurück. Seitdem zählt der alljährliche Einzug von Samson in die Marktgassen, begleitet durch eine Musikkapelle und meist auch von der Bürgergarde, mit Sicherheit zu einem der saisonalen Höhepunkte.

Als Wahrzeichen des Lungaus und als Symbol für Kraft und Stärke wird die biblische Heldenfigur mit einem stolzen Gewicht von 80 Kilo durch den Ort getragen. Ein Spektakel, wenn die 6 und 8 Meter großen Riesen vom Samsonträger gestemmt werden, und besonders lebendig durch ihre Farbenpracht.

Wichtige Termine:

11.06.2017 - Samsonumzug beim Chorfestival Feuer und Stimme
15.06.2017 - Samsonumzug zu Fronleichnam
15.08.2017 - Samsonumzug am Katschberg
24.09.2017 - Samsonumzug anlässlich des Marktfestes